Admin

Clubs and Activities

 

Franklin Middle School

Clubs and Organizations

2016-2017


Club/Organization

Description

Meeting Info.

Sponsor and Contact Info.

AVID Homework Club

Ms. Swales and students from Towson University will help AVID students with organization and completing/submitting missing assignments.

Every Tuesday

Ms. Swales, kswales@bcps.org

Broadcasting and Media Club

The Broadcasting Club runs the live FMS Morning News broadcasts. The Media Clubs works after school to create video segments for the news show.

Media Club will meet several Wednesdays a month from 2:30-3:30 in the library.

See Mrs. Samay, asamay@bcps.org, for an application. Morning broadcast spots have been filled, but we are still accepting Media Club members.

Builders Club

The Builders Club consists of students who have a strong desire to complete community service projects. The goal of the various service projects is to enhance both the school, and area communities, and to improve the leadership skills of the membership. Club meetings are held on a weekly basis with service projects taking place throughout the year (some on weekends).

Tuesdays

Mrs. Rebar, crebar2@bcps.org

Celtic Ensemble

This group plays the Dance music of Ireland and Scotland. All strings instruments are welcome, in addition to whistle, flute, guitar, mandolin, and banjo. Contact Ms. McFadden for more information.

Wednesdays, Room 127A

Mrs. McFadden, cmcfadden@bcps.org

 

Chamber Orchestra

Chamber Orchestra is an after school honors ensemble that is by audition only.

Tuesdays, 2:30-3:30, with extra rehearsals as concert time approaches.

Mr. Lavallee,

llavallee@bcps.org

Chess Club

The club will teach players how to play chess, research different strategies, and include exhibition games as well as tournaments.

Every other Thursday

Mr. Madigan, jmadigan@bcps.org and Mr. Samay, msamay@bcps.org

Design Club

The Design Club is all about making Franklin a more beautiful place! We focus on creating and displaying permanent artworks throughout our school.

 

Wednesdays, 2:30-3:30 in Room 115A.

Ms. Preston, kpreston@bcps.org

Dragon Ball

Dragon Ball is a basketball tournament for all middle school students. Each grade will have their own tournament, which will consist of regular season games, playoffs, and a championship game where parents will be invited to attend.

 

8th grade:

Oct.-Nov.

7th grade:

Dec.-Jan.

6th grade:

Jan.-Feb.

Mr. Marshall, cmarshall5@bcps.org

 

Festival Strings

Festival Strings is an after school combined orchestra for grades six-eight.

Thursdays, 2:30-3:30, with extra rehearsals as concert time approaches.

Mr. Lavallee,

llavallee@bcps.org

 

Green Team

The Green Team provides students with an opportunity to be leaders in increasing environmental awareness within our school and community. Students work to reduce our school’s negative impact on the environment by organizing and completing various environmental action projects. Examples of projects that the club proudly organizes are our school-wide recycling program, our bluebird trail, and our Earth Day activities.

 

 

Mr. Causarano, rcausarano@bcps.org

Honors Band

Open to all sixth, seventh and eighth grade band members interested in an additional performance opportunity outside of their grade level ensemble. Students perform music from genres not traditionally covered during the school day, such as pop, film, and jazz.

Thursdays

 

Intramurals

After school sports played for fun, including: archery, world cup soccer, floor hockey, flag football, and more. No experience is necessary and play as often as you like.

Look for information each month in your P.E. classes

Ms. Gordon, jgordon2@bcps.org

 

Jazz Band

An audition based music that develops solo and ensemble playing through the mediums of Jazz, Latin and Rock music.

Tuesdays

Mr. Roberts, groberts@bcps.org

 

Literary Magazine

Literary Magazine is a club run by the Editorial Staff (members) to showcase student work. Students submit original art and literary creations for consideration.

Tuesdays (Students will also sell magazines during lunch shifts.)

Ms. Fernstrom, hfernstrom@bcps.org

 

 

Newspaper Club

 

Wednesdays

Mrs. Rebar, crebar2@bcps.org

Percussion Ensemble

Open to all students interested in performing drum circles and traditional percussion ensemble music.

Wednesdays

 

Mr. Roberts, groberts@bcps.org

 

Project Kindness

Project Kindness is a way for all students to stand up against bullying, harassment and unwanted teasing by discussing, learning and practicing acts of kindness.

 

Mr. Madigan, jmadigan@bcps.org and Ms. Price, bprice2@bcps.org

Quiz Bowl

Our team meets weekly to prepare for countywide matches against other middle schools in BCPS. The competitions test each team's knowledge of current events and general knowledge questions.

 

Tuesdays in the Library, 2:30-3:30

Mrs. Causarano, kcausarano@bcps.org

24 Challenge Club

The 24 Challenge Club allows students to develop their math skills in a fun, engaging way. The students compete in the game by making the number 24 using the numbers displayed on the game cards. Using any of the four operations (addition, subtraction, multiplication, and/or division), the students race to find a way to make 24, using each number only once. In the spring, our club will compete against other students in Baltimore County at the 24 challenge tournament!

Thursdays, 2:35-3:15

Ms. Smith, jsmith21@bcps.org and Ms. Metheny, lmetheny@bcps.org